About BSA
Share |

Organization and Structure

BSA is an Illinois not-for-profit corporation whose policies and direction are determined by elected officers and a board of directors, who report to the general membership. The officers and directors represent member firms from worldwide geographic areas. The board meets three times per year, and the association's performance is reported to and reviewed by the membership at the annual meeting.


Each year, an association president is elected to serve for one year. Each president has placed his or her unique stamp of leadership on the association. BSA is proud of those dedicated individuals who have served as BSA president.


BSA is run by the professional management staff of CM Services, Inc., The Association Partnership Company®, in Glen Ellyn, Illinois.

Legal Counsel

The officers, directors, and staff are assisted by experienced legal counsel, who attends all board and membership meetings. William C. Ives has served as BSA's legal counsel since its formation.

Click here for Information regarding Online Payments to BSA.

Board of Directors

Jim Scardina
Bearing Headquarters Company

Tom Weihsmann
Kaman Industrial Technologies Corporation

Michel Bouchard
General Bearing Service Inc.

Immediate Past President,
Chairman of the Board

Brian Davis
Bearings & Drives

Director (2016-2019)
Jason Vasquez
Applied Industrial Technologies

Director (2016-2019)
Benito Rodriguez

Director (2016-2019)
Jim Williams
Motion Industries, Inc.

Director (2017-2020)
John Schoessel
Bearing Service Company of Pennsylvania

Director (2014-2020)
Todd Hamlin
DXP Enterprises

Director (2017-2020)
Steve Durston
Jamaica Bearings Co. Inc.

Director (2015-2021)
Bill Shepard

Director (2018-2021)
John Masek
Bearing Service, Inc.

Director (2018-2021)
Rex Davis
Kaman Industrial Technologies Corporation

Past Presidents

Click here to view the BSA Past Presidents.

Committee Chairpersons

Distributor/Manufacturer Relations
Jason Vasquez
Applied Industrial Technologies

Supply Chain Strategy & Technology
Mark Stoneburner
Motion Industries, Inc.

2019 Convention
Doug Savage
Bearing Service, Inc.

Member Engagement and Programs
Jack Simpson
Applied Industrial Technologies

Certification and Education Committee
JP Bouchard
General Bearing Service Inc.

Past Presidents Council
Brian Davis
B&D Industrial

Honorary Members

  • William H. Allen, Jr., Allied Bearings Supply, Tulsa, OK
  • Dennis Bobker, Bobker Bearings, Livingston, NJ
  • Thomas Brown, Applied Industrial Technologies, Bend, OR
  • Robert “Jack” Doub, The B.R. Smith Co., Baltimore , MD
  • James Fitzpatrick, Sr., Bearings Specialty Co., Canton, MA
  • Dave Hooser, BDI, Cleveland, OH
  • Lynne (Kelly) Sears, Miller Bearings, Orlando, FL
  • John Kisel, BDI, Englewood , FL
  • Cam Lawrence, BDI Canada, Mississauga, ON, Canada
  • Robby MacPherson, BC Bearing Engineers, Burnaby, BC, Canada
  • Chris McCririe, Reliable Bearing Co. Ltd., La Conner, WA
  • Thomas Miller, Motion Industries, Birmingham, AL
  • Michael Moore, INVETECH, Bloomfield Hills , MI
  • Charles "Nick" Nicholson, Bearings & Drives, Sandersville, GA
  • Caryl “Harry” Oranges, King Bearing Inc., Rancho Mirago , CA
  • Walter B. Osborne, Grenelefe , FL
  • Jeff Ramras, Applied Industrial Technologies, Cleveland, OH
  • Donald “Doc” Schaff, Syracure Bearing Co., Chesapeake , VA
  • Lathrop Smith, Industrial Supplies, Inc., Birmingham, AL
  • Eugene Tappero, Michigan Bearing, Atlantis, FL
  • John Timble, Bearing Headquarters Company, Indianapolis, IN
  • Mel M. Tompkins, Sr., Allied Bearing, Little Rock AR
  • Gordon Tupling, Tigard , OR

To be eligible for BSA Honorary Membership, a person must:

  • Be living, and
  • No longer be actively or directly involved in bearing distribution, and
  • Be a former officer or director of BSA, ABS , or AFBDA, or
  • Have been actively connected with the business of a BSA, ABS or AFBDA member, and who, in the majority opinion of the Board of Directors, has made an outstanding contribution to the industry

Lifetime Achievement

  • Wendy McDonald, BC Bearing Engineers Ltd. (2001)
  • James Fitzpatrick Sr., Bearings Specialty Company (2005)
  • John Nations, Bearings & Drives, Inc. (2005)
  • Jamie Martin, The Timken Corporation (2006)
  • Richard Gipson, Gipson Bearing & Supply Co., Inc. (2007)
  • Denny Clark, SKF Service Division (2007)
  • Hal Allen, Allied Bearings Supply Co., Inc. (2009)
  • William C. Ives, Legal Counsel (2010)
  • Peter Negri, Jamaica Bearings Company, Inc. (2012)
  • Andrew Nations, Bearings & Drives, Inc. (2013)
  • William J. Stevens, Motion Industries, Inc. (2014)
  • Jerilyn J. Church, CM Services, Inc. The Association Partnership Company (2015)
  • Richard W. Church, CM Services, Inc. The Association Partnership Company (2015)
  • Scott A. MacPherson, Motion Industries, Inc. (2016)
  • Jim Fitzpatrick, BSC Industries, Inc. (2017)
  • Ellen Holladay, Motion Industries, Inc. (2018)

Eligibility Requirements for a BSA Lifetime Achievement Award:

  • must be or have been a member or participating manufacturer of BSA for at least 25 years
  • must attend or have attended BSA events
  • must be or have been actively involved in BSA
  • must demonstrate or have demonstrated a leadership role within the industry
  • may be presented posthumously
  • presentation at the annual BSA convention

Special Manufacturer Award

  • Gus Kontonickas, NSK Limited (2012) - Special Manufacturer Award
  • Bob Daniel, Timken Company (2013) - Special Manufacturer Award